(Video) “What About Me?”

Many people know Chögyam Trungpa, possibly the Tibetan teachers who more than others was able to translate Tibetan Buddhism into western terms. To Chogyam Trungpa’s books, blindly picked up in a bookstore as I often do when I put my trust outside of my ability to be rational, I owe my understanding that teachings necessarily hide within the folds of the society where they are transmitted, and that to look within, but to discard the opportunity to understand deeper truths because of the cultural clothes they wear is to call ourselves adventurers while refusing to sail around the world because of the color of the boat.

I believe the book I picked up in the library was either The Myth of Freedom or Cutting Through Spiritual Materialism. It helped me immensely to understand the treasure trove of teachings I had received when only a child, from Chögyal Namkhai Norbu, and to restart my life long, stumbling path towards understanding the ultimate nature of reality, which I had abandoned for years in favor of a materialistic, and ultimately self-destructive, grab-a-thon.

Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche

Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche is Chogyam Trungpa’s son, and the head of the Shambala Buddhist lineage founded by his father in Colorado. My good contact Brian D Hardin just posted this remarkable music video on my Facebook page which, in the classic Shambala style, sends a very western, yet universal message from the very core of the Buddhist philosophy to all of us. May it be of benefit!

What About Me

One thought on “(Video) “What About Me?”

  1. Pingback: Vipassana – Buddhist & Yogic cultism at its worst…..Part 1 | Neon Plastic Lotus

Leave a Reply

